Senior design team earns 2nd place in 2nd annual CASMART challenge

Congratulations to the MTSE '17 Senior Design group 'Young's Modulus' for their 2nd place award at the 2nd annual CASMART challenge. Under the direction of Dr. Marcus Young and sponsorship of Dr. Othmane Benafan, the team, composed of Avery Young, Tyler Torgerson, and Kiersten Tafoya, designed a new NiTiSn low temperature shape memory alloy (SMA). This design is to be implemented as an actuator for a deep space expandable habitat. Their new material shows potential to reduce mass of the habitiat, decrease production cost and increase the reliability and functionality of actuation devices in deep space conditions. Throughout this design process the site preference and solubility of Sn in NiTi was evaluated. The effects of Sn content, NiTi ratio, and precipitation strengthening on transformation temperature, phase composition, and mechanical properties in the NiTiSn SMA system were also assessed. 

The Consortium for the Advancement of Shape Memory Alloy Research and Technology (CASMART) was established to promote the growth and adoption of shape memory alloy (SMA) actuation technologies by achieving new understanding of the materials, fostering dissemination of technical knowledge, and facilitating application of that knowledge. CASMART members currently consist of: Texas A&M, Michigan State, Northwestern University, North Carolina State University, University of Central Florida, University of Saarland, University of North Texas, Colorado School of Mines. ATI Wah Chang, Boeing, Dynalloy, GM, Johnson-Matthey, Telezygology, Rolls Royce, Fort Wayne Metals. Shape Change Technologies, LLC., NASA Glenn Research Center, NASA Langley Research Center, Sandia National Laboratories. 

Congratulations to 'Young's Modulus'!

From left to right: Avery Young, Kiersten Tafoya. Tyler Torgerson not pictured.
Young's Modulus with their certificate