Dr. Diana Berman named winner of 2017 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award

Dr. Diana Berman, Assistant Professor in Material Science and Engineering Department, has been named a winner of the 2017 Ralph E.Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from the Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) (http://www.orau.org/university-partnerships/faculty-student-programs/powe/ ). This prestigious award represents recognition of the quality and promise of the recipient’s research work by academic peers.

Dr. Berman conducts her research project in understanding the fundamental mechanisms of tribological behavior of 2D materials under applied stresses and during mechanical deformation. With extensive expertise in synthesis and characterization of 2D materials and carbon-based nanostructures, Dr. Berman’s research focuses on understanding nano, micro, and macro-scale tribological performance of thin films and physisorbed layers.

ORAU, a 121 consortium of major PhD-granting universities nation-wide, has selected 36 recipients of the award this year.  The Ralph E.Powe award is intended to provide funds for research and professional growth of junior faculty at ORAU member institutions.